Color and Lighting and Your Aging Eyes


Color and lighting are both critical aspects of designing for senior living spaces. Alesha Churba is a top consultant and Aging in Place professional. This overview is a great summary when it comes to planning spaces for Mom and Dad or anyone with eyesight issues. Enjoy!

Design With the Future In Mind

Over the years, I have been fascinated by color and the science of color.  I have taken numerous classes and completed a Color Consultant Certification a few years ago.  I even did color testing on my whole family and, as is predictable in my family, everyone likes a different color range.  My parents are on totally opposite ends of the color spectrum.  So, you ask, what does this have to do with anything?  Let me tell you- the colors my parents are seeing are not the colors that I am seeing and the colors that I see, are not the colors my daughter sees.  Keep this in mind when choosing colors for your own home.

What may appear red to you could be very different from what your spouse is seeing.  Do not assume that because a certain color is “in” that it is the best color choice for you…

View original post 509 more words

Leave a Reply

